Akron Borough PA


  John McBeth

Council meets second Monday of every month at 7:00pm
  John Williamson - President
  Justin Gehman - Vice-President
  Phil Benigno - Water
  Perry Lorah - Community Relations & Special Projects
  Daniel McCormac - Parks, Property, Planning
  Thomas Murray - Administration & Finance
  Earl Shirk - Personnel & Public Safety

  Dan Guers - Borough Manager
  Susan Davidson - Borough Secretary
  Ann Nolt - Tax Collector

Planning Commission  – meets second Thursday of each month if needed
   Sam Baughman, II
   Ryan Cochran
   Robert Rollman
   John Taylor
   John Williamson

Zoning Hearing Board scheduled as needed
   Christine Burkholder
   Kay McEllhenney
   Annette Swartz
   Thomas Bender - alternate

Borough Authority – scheduled as needed
   Susan Davidson
   Pamela Musser
   Terry Reber
   Jeff Shirk
   Robert Stauffer

Civil Service Commission scheduled as needed
   Kirby Smith - Chair
   Joseph Mikos
   Donald Reese


Akron PA Borough




View Recent Council Minutes

Council Committees

Administration & Finance: Chair: Tom Murray, Sr.; Members: Perry Lorah, Dan McCormac. In conjunction with Borough staff: budgeting, financial reporting, and other financial matters, IT, Website, Email, Administration.

Community Relations & Special Projects: Chair: Perry Lorah; Members: Justin Gehman, Earl Shirk. In collaboration with Borough Staff: improve our relations with our residents, and also to liaison with community organizations such as Lions, Boy Scouts, Library, Rec Center, Also to assist with community events such as Barnstormers Game, New Year's Eve, Day in the Park, etc. Follow-up on complaints, receive feedback, recruit volunteers, assist with writing articles in Akron newsletter. Take on other special projects that don't fit in other committees.

Parks, Property, Planning: Chair: Dan McCormac, Members: Earl Shirk, Justin Gehman. In collaboration with Borough staff, responsible for Akron’s parks, and facilities, and planning for the Borough. Preparing long term plans for Parks and Akron Comprehensive Plan.

Personnel & Public Safety: Chair: Chair: Earl Shirk; Members: Tom Murray, Sr., Phil Benigno. In collaboration with Borough Manager, develop and recommend personnel policies; recommend to Council the hiring, dismissal, or discipline of non-uniform employees. In collaboration with the Mayor and Police Chief, responsible for police, fire, public health, and emergency management.

Streets & Sewer: Chair: Justin Gehman, Members: Phil Benigno, Perry Lorah. In collaboration with Borough staff: planning road reconstruction, repairing, cleaning and snow-plowing of Akron’s streets and alleys, correcting and repairing stormwater and drainage problems, and wastewater sanitary system. MS4 Program and Act 537.

Water: Chair: Phil Benigno, Members: Dan McCormac, Tom Murray, Sr. In collaboration with Borough staff, responsible for Akron’s water infrastructure: long-term planning, response to SRBC, repairs, maintenance.